In the Light, Darkness Flees

In Him [Jesus Christ] was life, and the life was the light of men. The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.

John 1:4 & 5

When I walk downstairs to the living room and turn the overhead light on, the darkness jumps back in an instant.  Just as quickly as the light comes on, the darkness scatters.  I am able to see everything in the room- the ottoman I would have walked into, the shoes I would have tripped on, the sentimental pictures hanging on the wall, and my favorite Christmas decorations scattered among the room.  Light is a fascinating concept in itself.  Darkness does not and can not exist in the presence of light; Darkness is merely the absence of light.  Light exposes and reveals… Light comforts you with sight and warmth.

How perfectly fitting it is, that light is used as imagery in the Bible.  In the light of God’s purity, our sins are exposed.  In light of Truth, the lies of the world get caught up.  In Light there is no Darkness. Satan is Darkness while God is Light; Hell is the absence of God.

As I mulled over this imagery, I was so caught by the beauty and depth it brings.  I want to surrender my soul to Him so that I may walk through the light.  I do not want to live in the darkness- stumbling around, walking myself straight into disaster and strife.  Instead, I want to know the beauty of truth and walk in confidence towards a place of peace, love, and joy.  I understand, that when I open myself up to the light the darkness that dwells in me will be exposed.  We all have a past, we all struggle with sin.  In a fallen body, living in a broken world -ruled by the King of Darkness- There will surely be a lot that needs exposed and scattered from my heart, mind, and life.

Here is a plea for THE Light through my art and poetry: In the Light, Darkness Flees.

In the Light, Darkness Flees

Fear wrapped my hands into fists.
Let no one know, so no one will judge.
Cling to my secrets, and hold them tight.
My nails puncture my skin, and my sins creep in.
Infection grows throughout my lungs, lies breathe out and nothing comes in.
Spoil runs through my veins as the devil takes his place.
My heart grows black and starts to fail.
Lord, Lord help me prevail.
Expose my soul.
I’ll let you in.
The walls of my lies tumble down, the facade falls to the ground
The light shines and all my darkness exposed
The love wraps and warms my soul.
The darkness screams and tries to flee
God’s face looks on it’s crawl, and it’s grasp diminishes, vanishing all.

Leave a Reply

