Have you Stopped to say Thank You?

Where I work, there are two bathrooms; One at each end of the building.  Whenever the facility crew is cleaning them, they put up signs in the open hallways to warn people “Don’t walk all the way down here, the bathroom is closed!” (However, the sign really just says “Slippery When Wet.”  Which, it is not, because it is carpet.) It can be a lengthy walk when you have to pee, and you’d be dancing on your trek to the bathroom on the opposite side of the building.  So it is a very nice gesture!

One day I was booking it to my usual bathroom, I turn the corner and I see that the cleaning lady had just gotten there and was about to put the signs out.  They run on a tight schedule, and are usually quite cross when they are interrupted.  I asked hesitantly if I was too late, and the lady told me she would just start with the Men’s and I was free to go in.  I did my business, washed my hands, and started on my way back to my desk.

I didn’t get very far, maybe just a few steps around the corner, and God nudged me. I felt convicted and moved.  Turning around, I caught her grabbing a garbage bag.  God had me tell her thank you.  I babbled on telling her she must not hear it enough, what she does is important and appreciated, that it takes integrity and hard-work.  Before I knew it, her eyes seemed to glisten with acknowledgement.  I am very thankful that my ears were open to God’s idea, that He chose me to carry out that bit of love for Him.

After sharing this experience with churchfolk, they decided to take on this challenge: say thank you to three people this week.  Say thank you to the garbage men, the mailmen, the bathroom cleaners, the McDonald’s worker, your cashier.  The people who scrape the sidewalks of snow at work, just say thank you.

Leave a Reply

