Busy, Busy, Busy

Life seems so busy. Too busy, really. I often find myself easily stressed, and overwhelmed. Every morning, I wake with a to-do list; Every night, I toss and turn in a frenzy of the things I have done and have yet to do. These lists keep me up at night, and my brain will not shut down.

My husband asks me if I want to lead a church project with him, and I get upset. “Look at everything I am doing, I can’t possibly fit another thing into the schedule!” If I add one more thing to the calendar, I think I will bust!

But I don’t want to live life this way… I want to have the freedom to say yes. I want to have the time to be spontaneous. I want to have excess to spend. I don’t just want it, I NEED it… and so do you.

When I overfill my calendar, I am making my own schedule. I am making all of the choices, and I have every day and every hour planned. But when I leave room, I give God the opportunity to fill that time. Instead of saying, “Sorry God, I’m too busy. I’ll put you down next month,” I can say, “God, I am available now, use me.”

Slowing down will create opportunities to say yes. Say YES to God! Say yes to your husband, and say yes to family. I am tired of letting the Calendar get in the way, it is time to take back control and MARKER in time to say yes. Schedule time to simply BE. Be still and know. In the slow quiet times, know that the world will not implode. When you stop, your life won’t explode. When you are not in control, God is.

God is our refuge and strength,
    an ever-present help in trouble.
Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way
    and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea,
though its waters roar and foam
    and the mountains quake with their surging.

He makes wars cease
    to the ends of the earth.
He breaks the bow and shatters the spear;
    he burns the shields[d] with fire.
He says, “Be still, and know that I am God

Psalm 46:1-3;9-10

Leave a Reply

