A Calendar Surprise

As you may have noticed, time has been on my heart and mind lately. It was my goal last week to schedule in more free time, so that I had the freedom in my life to say yes to God. Ironically, a class I am taking had the same idea! God sure speaks through irony!

Our activity sheet had a week’s calendar on it. Monday through Sunday was listed on the top of the chart, with every hour listed along it’s left side. Then, given a typical week, we were to fill in all the hours with the average tasks. Getting Ready and breakfast 7-8, Work 8-5, Band Practice, Church, Bible Study, Zumba, etc. Once the chart was full of the mandatory items, you were to highlight our heavily outline all the free-time you had. From the 10 minutes to the hours.

I was SHOCKED! Why? Because I had a lot more free-time than I thought.

Look at all the free-time I had been squandering! Couple minutes here, hours there… they were all being spent, but without my knowledge and without my attention.

Perhaps, like me, your problem isn’t TIME after all, but intentionality. How are you spending the time God has given you? Are you on facebook, and before you know it you wasted an hour or two? Were you watching Netflix, and because you didn’t want to get up you let the next episode auto play? And the next, and the next? Are you hitting snooze too often, and avoiding your quiet time with God?

This exercise opened my eyes, and my calendar! I have more time than I know, but it’s up to me to spend it wisely.

 

“O Lord, make me know my end
    and what is the measure of my days;
    let me know how fleeting I am!
Behold, you have made my days a few handbreadths,
    and my lifetime is as nothing before you.
Surely all mankind stands as a mere breath!

Psalm 39:4-5

One thought on “A Calendar Surprise

Leave a Reply

