Skinny has it’s Woes : There is Hope for Body Image Issues

I weigh myself just about every morning, then I walk over to a full length mirror and assess myself based off the new information I’ve received. Some days I am happy with how I look, and other days… Even if the scale is the same, my eyes add on the pounds.   Mental tallies are made for what I ate, if I did or didn’t work out, and how these same 130 pounds seem to distribute themselves differently each morning.

Then I go about my day and everyone has an opinion on my looks, and they are not ashamed to say it! “Oh, but you have nothing to worry about.” “I wish I was skinny like you.” “It’s not fair, that’s because you’re skinny.” “I love your outfit, but I could never pull it off.” “You need to eat more!” So on, and so forth. These comments aren’t helpful, they just add on guilt to the problem. Skinny people are not free from body-image issues. Everyone is susceptible to Satan’s tricks.

Skinny people may still worry that they are not skinny enough, or that they are too skinny! We do not want to chastise them for their body, which they may even work hard for! Do not add pain to their worries, by piling on guilt and self-hate.

We all need to stop comparing ourselves; Instead live in love, acceptance, and encouragement. Embrace how God has carved you! The One who chose the beauty of the mountains, who dug the canyons, who painted the moving waters, and filled the earth with birds of every color, trust His ability to create something –someone­- SO Beautiful!

Then share the true vision of beauty with those around you.

But now thus says the Lord,
he who created you, O Jacob,
    he who formed you, O Israel:
Fear not, for I have redeemed you;
    I have called you by name, you are mine.
When you pass through the waters, I will be with you;
    and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you;
when you walk through fire you shall not be burned,
    and the flame shall not consume you.
For I am the Lord your God,
    the Holy One of Israel, your Savior.
I give Egypt as your ransom,
    Cush and Seba in exchange for you.
Because you are precious in my eyes,
    and honored, and I love you,
I give men in return for you,
    peoples in exchange for your life.
Fear not, for I am with you;
    I will bring your offspring from the east,
    and from the west I will gather you.
 will say to the north, Give up,
    and to the south, Do not withhold;
bring my sons from afar
    and my daughters from the end of the earth,
everyone who is called by my name,
    whom I created for my glory,
    whom I formed and made.”

Isaiah 43:1-7

Emphasis added

Leave a Reply

