When your needs are known…

God is good.

Last week my husband shared a personal letter of loneliness, which I backed up with my own post about desiring deeper connections.  The same week that we decided to finally hit “publish” on these feelings, God loudly responded.

Sunday, we had a couple change their minds.  Instead of cancelling dinner plans, they came over- despite their hurried week -with salad and soda in hand.

Tuesday, while I was busy at the Church having soup, communion, and a time of service with other women, my husband was jamming with three of his guy friends.

Wednesday, I met with a young lady -about my age- for dinner right after work.  I was so nervous, but we ended up sitting there for 2.5 hours truly connecting about life.

Then! When my husband and I ran into Wal-Mart just to quickly grab a missed item, someone asked me where I got my boots.  I turned around and it was a couple our age! After answering her question, the guys started talking and we started talking, and it turned into a 40 minute convo in the middle of Wal-Mart.

Turns out these strangers live in our neighborhood, go to the same church as an old co-worker… The coincidences kept rolling in.  The guys both buy their boots from Aldo, they like to play frisbee and Badminton in the summer, and break out the board games in the winter.  Needless to say, our facebook friends went up one count!  All because Kroger doesn’t carry Johnsonville Cheddar Bacon Grillers.

When you let the body of Christ know your needs, they are better able to act as the body and serve you, it’s other member.  Sometimes, God is waiting for us to ask, so that it is clear that He is the one answering.  Don’t let pride stand in the way, humbly ask your loving Father to step into your life and watch for His answers.

“Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you.  For everyone who asks receives, and the one who seeks finds, and to the one who knocks it will be opened.  Or which one of you, if his son asks him for bread, will give him a stone?  Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a serpent?  If you then, who are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give good things to those who ask him!

Matthew 7:7-11

Leave a Reply

