Getting into Essential Oils

When I don’t sleep enough, I get headaches.  If I don’t drink enough water, I get headaches. When I’m stressed, I get headaches.  When I worry about getting a headache, I get a headache.

I’ve had a couple migraines in my life, and now that I know I get them, I fear them.  A headache will bring the possibility of a migraine, and I just don’t want to chance it.  However, I don’t want to pop pills at the earliest onset of a headache every time.  That is a lot of pills!  But I do not want to let it slip from a mild headache to a pounding, sight reducing, nauseating migraine… so I started looking into these essential oils.

Several of my friends have been using oils with great success for numerous things from acne to pms, cleaning to sleeping, indigestion to colds.  So I did a little digging and started with a sample of PastTense on my head.  I have since fallen down the rabbit hole…. with a Family Physician Kit full of 8 oils and a membership for wholesale rates, I feel like I am in Wonderland.  If you always wondered about this craze, let me tell you what has worked for us.

Peppermint

I like to put peppermint on my temples and the back of my neck when I have a headache coming on.  The earlier I put it on the better it works.  It curbs the pain, and helps me relax.  Although it isn’t a sure help everytime, it has cut the pilltaking significantly.

On Guard  protective blend

When we went home for Christmas everyone was getting sick.  We gargled a little bit of this oil with water every night, and would drop some in the back of our shower to “diffuse” the smell.  We made it back to Ohio and have yet to catch anything.  Unfortunately, our family has the flu and sore throats going from one to the next to the other.

DigestZen Digestion Blend

My husband rubs this on his tummy or chest when he knows or feels indigestion setting in.  He said that it’s worked for him!  That works for me.

Melaluca

My sister said she likes to clean with this.  You can mix it with water in a spray bottle and it’s chemical free.  I use it on my zits, and have always noticed a difference over night.

 

These are just a few oils, that in my experience, have worked.  I know that everyone is different, and the oils may affect you differently.  Some work, some don’t, and if you are allergy prone it’s something to be cautious about.  But they are natural, beneficial, and worth a shot.  In just a month we have gotten in the habit of going to our oils before our medicine cabinet, and has proved a fun experiment.

2 thoughts on “Getting into Essential Oils

Leave a Reply

